Nominate an Alberta Artist for a 2019 Distinguished Artist Award

(Edmonton, March 18, 2019) Nominations are about to close for the 2019 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Distinguished Artist Awards, Alberta’s most prestigious artistic award. Alberta artists and those now working elsewhere, but maintaining a strong connection to Alberta, are eligible and anyone may nominate through a simple online process.

The competition closes midnight, March 31, 2019

Plan to attend and plan to nominate a deserving talent via this online form

About the Distinguished Artist Award

The Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Distinguished Artist Award is Alberta’s most prestigious recognition of outstanding achievement in the arts. Our 17 Distinguished Artists include renowned architect, Douglas Cardinal; painter Alex Janvier; theatre troupe One Yellow Rabbit; and authors Aritha van Herk, Alice Major, Greg Hollingshead, Rudy Wiebe, and the late Robert Kroetsch, among others.

Past Distinguished Artist Recipients:

On September 21, 2019 we will add up to three new names to this celebrated group. Individuals or organizations may nominate an artist, artist collective, or arts builder for a Distinguished Artist Award until March 31, 2019.

Up to three awards of $30,000 each are awarded every other year (odd years). Recipients also receive a hand-cast medal, a pin, a framed citation, and, where appropriate, a two-week residency at The Banff Centre Leighton Artists Colony.

Individuals or organizations may nominate an artist, artist collective, or arts builder and supporter for a Distinguished Artist Award. (Self-nominations, posthumous nominations, and nominations from family members, however, will not be considered.)

Eligible nominees must be:

  • Canadian citizens
  • Current Alberta residents, or those who have had a significant connection to the province over time
  • Artists who have achieved excellence in their discipline
  • Arts supporters and builders who have contributed in a major way to the arts in Alberta.

For more information, please contact:

Kathy Classen
Executive Director
ph: 780-222-7943