The Eldon + Anne Foote Edmonton Visual Arts Prize Committee created a long list of five candidates for the 2014 Award that will be given out on June 19th at 7:30pm during a short ceremony at Visual Arts Alberta Gallery (10215 112 Street NW, Edmonton). The winner will receive $10,000.

The five Greater Edmonton area artists long listed in alphabetical order are (nominating galleries follow in parenthesis):

Allen Ball (MCPAG, Stony Plain)
Sean Caulfield + Royden Mills (Strathcona County Gallery @ 501, Sherwood Park)
Brenda Draney, (Art Gallery of Alberta, Edmonton)
Clay Ellis, (Peter Robertson Gallery, Edmonton)
Gary James Joynes (DC3, Edmonton)

A short list composed of the top three candidates will come out on May 22nd or 23rd. This year the two candidates on the short list will receive a $500.00 award for being shortlisted. The winner of the Eldon + Anne Foote Edmonton Visual Arts Prize will receive $10,000.

This prize is the result of a partnership between the Edmonton Community Foundation, the Edmonton Arts Council and Visual Arts Alberta – CARFAC. The Eldon + Anne Foote Edmonton Visual Arts Prize committee would like to congratulate the artists long listed along with the institutions that nominated them. We would also like to thank all the artists that did not make the long list this year. Clearly the greater Edmonton region has many talented artists.